Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

His secret plan made my day

Here we go into the last few days of holiday shopping. This is when you can smell fear and see terror in the eyes of desperate shoppers. I always feel particularly sorry for the men walking around with that deer in headlights look in hopes that the perfect gift will magically appear. It’s the act of procrastination that gets them into this spot year after year but their pitiful look gets me every time. 

Last week I was so taken by a young man who came into the store looking for a reindeer plate to add to his girlfriend’s collection. He was so cheerful and excited about the holiday. When I asked if he had his shopping about done his face lit up and he told me about his Christmas Day plan.

 “Well you see”, he said with so much excitement,  “my girlfriend and I have this advent calender and every morning we take out the ornament for that day and place it on the tree. He could hardly contain himself as he told me the rest. “You see, on Christmas morning when she opens the little door to the 25th there won’t be an ornament but something better. On Christmas Eve after she goes to sleep I will sneak down to the tree and replace the ornament behind the 25th with a diamond ring and a little note asking her to marry me.”

  He smiled, purchased the plate and quickly darted out the door. His story made my day. I could tell he was so proud of himself for coming up with that special moment and I was so touched that he had shared it with me. I can only imagine what a wonderful Christmas morning they’ll have- so special. I’m sure I will be thinking about them come Christmas morning. I’m a sucker for romance.

Well, I’m off to work and then girls night were we will have dinner and exchange gifts for the season. Cheers to monday (as I raise my coffee cup) and the perfect start to a very busy week!

xo-jj

December 14, 2009 - Posted by | bad boys, lovers, me, secrets | , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. Very creative idea by the young guy.

    We are doing a similar concept with the ornament per day and the Advent calendar. The ornaments are tiny and each child has a small Christmas tree that is being decorated as we go.

    Comment by slamdunk | December 14, 2009

  2. Oh that is just so darn sweet! Give that man a medal! Now, the bagpipe player…Dee and I were SO off our game for not coming up with that song ourselves! **blows merry kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | December 14, 2009

  3. Awe! I am a sap for that sweet story. Love romantic gestures at CH
    hristmas. Have fun today and tonight with your friends. I laughed at the thought of the hoards of glassy eyed men wandering lost waiting for the magic idea to pop up in front of them….even though we have dropped a hint or two along the way…but then they would have to listen to us to get that wee bit of insight. . My husband now waits for daughter to come home from college to help him…thank God.
    Love and a warm hug to you Sweet Junie.
    xxoo

    Comment by laurel | December 14, 2009

  4. This young man is a true romantic. I wish him and his lovely wife to be the best of lives together. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | December 14, 2009

  5. That is going to be a Christmas they both will remember. Sweet.

    Comment by Shell | December 15, 2009

  6. This is very nice but something I would never do even if I celebrated Christmas. LOL! But good for him. Good for them both.

    Comment by Ricardo | December 15, 2009


Leave a Reply

