Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

A sea of Holiday festivities and me feeling a bit in-between

I hope you shared a beautiful holiday with the ones you love. I’m still here, navigating my way through a sea of holiday festivities, putting in over time at the store and feeling a bit tired. I can’t believe a new year is just around the corner. This time of year is a bit melancholy for me but also a little magical. It’s that in-between state-the party is over but a new adventure is about to begin. I’m never quite sure how I feel about it.  I don’t usaully do the big noisy hoopla for NewYears. I prefer to usher in the day in a little quieter more intimate setting with time to think and hope for a special year. We have a long winter ahead and although I despise the weather, I do welcome the quiet solitude that allows me to go deep with thoughts which sometimes end up as words on paper. I’m never quite sure how I feel about the passing of another year and the anticipation of the new. Maybe it’s because I’ve had far too many cookies and my brain is still coming down from a sugar high or perhaps it’s the shear exhaustion of the holiday hype which ends in a mess of wrapping paper and dirty dishes. No matter the reason or all the details, 2010 is on its way and I’m hoping for something spectacular.

What are your thoughts about the New Year and how will you celebrate? Tell me about your holiday and share your hopes and ideas for a New Year. 

xo-jj

December 29, 2009 - Posted by | confessions, family woes, me | , , , , , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I love the wreath. Pottery Barn? It must be so exhausting working the store this week. I like quiet New Years these days too. We will be going to dinner with our neighbors at our favorite Mexican restaurant for our favorite Margaritas. And Junie, I’ve been very blessed since the first day you left a comment on my little blog and our friendship began. **blows merry kisses still** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | December 29, 2009

  2. It has been a bittersweet year for me. New Year’s Eve is going to be a low key celebration for me this year. One of
    my friends may come over and we’ll ring in the new year together.

    Comment by Shell | December 29, 2009

  3. I am so with you dear Junie. I really am perplexed these days. Tripping on some not so happy thoughts but know it will pass like the year. I get blue -and regret that I don’t take more time to just be in the moment and spirit of the holiday and get stuck in one too many trips to Target. Blah…:)
    I will have a lovley quiet celbration at home with loved ones. Funny how I used to be all about the party and now I am all about the peace:)
    Love and Happy New Year Hugs to you JJ.
    xoxo

    Comment by laurel | December 29, 2009

  4. My dear Junie-moon. My fears are not for coming years but for the earth and the people on it. There is so much upheavel right now. Our mother earth is hurting and so many of our people are lost. I pray for wisdom and strength for our world and thank those who have given me so much and for those who have touched my heart. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | December 29, 2009

  5. Oh Junie, one thing I know for sure is that you will enhance my life in the New Year just like you did in the old.

    You have a deep way of thinking of things and I always sit after and just sigh.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | December 29, 2009

  6. Even before becoming parents, we preferred the slower paced ways of breaking in the new year. We like simply spending time together.

    I can relate to the cookie on the brain thing that this holiday brings; I think the family is going to nickname me the Cookie Monster if I am seen raiding the snack plates anymore.

    Comment by slamdunk | December 30, 2009


Leave a Reply

