Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

New Year, new hope and a funny story

The last few days I have been busy with life but also busy in my thoughts.  I think it’s because we’re standing on the cusp of a New Year, looking back on a year where so much change took place. The following scenario nicely sums up just how this crazy year has been.

I left the house with my phone in my ear and a handful of supplies for the day. As I drove down MLK, I was thinking about all of the things that needed to get done but wouldn’t stand a chance since I was putting in a full day of work and would most likely return home with tired feet and an “I don’t feel like it” attitude.  Just as I was becoming annoyed at the longest stop light in the world, I noticed something that made me laugh and sit a bit after the light had turned green and a few rushed drivers singled me with their horns. The sight to my left was something out of a Jim Carrey movie and it set the tone for the rest of my day. 

Try to imagine for a moment rush hour traffic at a busy corner on a cold December day.  Everyone is in a hurry and not very happy about the idea of venturing out on the slippery roads to put in a full day of work.  A well-built man in a black jogging suit, fluffy white hat,  and white woolen mittens is on the corner with his pit bull. He is performing some sort of routine that kind of resembles an olympic ribbon dance. He has a long white cloth that he’s waving around as he leaps down the sidewalk. When he leaped the dog followed and when he kneeled and pointed to the sky the dog sat and looked around. This was very entertaining but it wasn’t the first time I had seen his little performance. What made this time over the top was the little man in a “We buy Gold” sandwich sign dancing around the ribbon dancer and his dog. He was clicking his fingers and twirling around to a silent beat.  Their routine looked like it had been corrigraphed for a Jim Carrey movie, Jim Carrey of course would be playing the part of the ribbon dancer.  It all seemed very purposeful, neither man acknowledged the other, they were moving together but very much in their own world or bubble. It was beautiful in a strange and really funny way.  This was the perfect opportunity for a video camera and no time restraints.  I had neither.  What a funny scene to jump-start my day but more importantly I realized how people are making the most of whatever hand they’ve been dealt and enjoying it. The unemployment rate in Michigan is about 15% and I’m quite certain the man in the sandwich sign was just happy to have a job. The fact that he had a little fun while doing it made me smile. The ribbon dancer obviously has some sort of mental illness but he seemed to be enjoying life while his dog enjoyed a little creative exercise. Acceptance, the right attitude and working together, it was beautiful.

This scene changed my attitude a bit and made me take a second look at this past year. I think the way the year played out and whether it was good or bad is largely perception. My perception or attitude for that day started out with a grumble but it was quickly changed to a giggle and smile after viewing the corner dance routine. A few moments can change your day or more importantly your mind! Think about this as you ring in the new year.

Imagine for a moment if we all ushered in 2010 with a “make the most of whatever you’ve got” attitude and a smile. It might change the course of a year or at least your perception of it. Is a good life, simply, in the mind of the beholder? Perhaps….

My wish is that each and every one of you, ushers in the New Year with love and tiny bubbles of  hope. Thank you so much for making my year brighter and for making me believe. I feel as though I have gotten to know the most beautiful part of you, the inside. (bubble image snatched from “I love bacteria.com)

Happy New Year…..

Love, love and so much hope to you – jj

December 31, 2009 - Posted by | bad boys, me, rants, saga | , , , , , , , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Oh I LoVe it all! The bubble photo, the dancing crazy man, dog, and the little sandwich man!!! I completely agree with you. We do need to make the most of what we have been given and accept the things that we cannot change. Attitude of Gratitude. For me, this past year I have been given so much, from the obvious of my son returning from war unharmed, to a million tiny little things. I most treasure this year making connections of the human spirit via the bloggy world. I am being fed by strangers-no longer. I treasure YOU, my little Junie Bug. Oh guess what!!! You are next on the Milo tour! Yes, it’s true. The Magical Ms. V will be sending Milo to your home town soon. However, Milos is spending New Years in a bizzare Arizona. Who can blame him… **blows festive, happy, blissful kisses of hope** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | December 31, 2009

  2. Junie you are beautiful inside and out. I consider you a rare gift of 2009.

    Happy New Year.

    Love Renee

    p.s. I love that there are characters everywhere.

    xoxox

    Comment by Renee Khan | December 31, 2009

  3. Hi Sweetie! I LOVE this story and treasure those moments when life says “You think that you know how your day is going to be ? Well here!” I get lost in those little gems. I am so grateful to have met such a soulful girl. You have a perfect New Year’s eve, Darling 🙂 Happy 2010…wow that looks strange:)
    Love Love Love
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | December 31, 2009

  4. Don’t you love random and interesting scenes like that to bring you back to the wonder of life.
    Have a beautiful and magical 2010, June.

    Comment by Shell | December 31, 2009

  5. O this is classic!! I wish you did have a video camera. That would have been great. Your description is great and I can picture it in my minds eye.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

    Comment by Ricardo | December 31, 2009

  6. Inspiring story.

    I also think the hidden message is that you were aware and perceptive in seeing this wonderful story being played out. How many similar great scenes do I miss in a week because I am focused on my own concerns?

    Happy New Year and thanks for making me think.

    Comment by slamdunk | December 31, 2009

  7. what a wonderful thing to see, people enjoying life even at the crappiest times!! i hope to be one of those people!!

    Comment by libby | January 1, 2010

  8. Dear Junie: Love this story. There is nothing like reciving a sign or message from life around us in the most unexpected ways. This was a gift to you and all of those who were lucky enough to witness it. Living in Atlanta, I am “fortunate” to come upon delightful wierdness often. I revel in these messages and the simple joys that people find around themselves. Thanks for sharing this. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | January 4, 2010

  9. Happy New Year and congrats because that photo is very difficult to take!

    Comment by Elie's Papel | January 9, 2010


Leave a Reply

