Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Stand-by for a moment while I lose my Zen

This pic was borrowed from myopera.com

Warning this may be hazardous to your zen!

Ready, set…..rant!  I hope you’re up for this because I really need a moment to go on and on about a few things that have been really messing up my mojo.

Okay let me start out by saying, I love the age of technology and all  the instant gratification it brings. I take full advantage of the convenience it offers but… yes, there is a but in there. I miss the human contact and sometimes need to ask questions or know that what has just transacted did the job or solved the problem.

It all started with all that automated crap which made me wonder- who is running the show? Then everything went digital and  leapt into cyber space- the rest is history. I admit that I love the ability to work from home and never have to venture out my door to shop, pay bills, google the answer to almost anything or be entertained for hours but… there’s my but again. There are times when I need a human voice so I can ask questions,  or a live person to just plain reassure me that everything is okay.

Just today I tried to pay my son’s college tuition bill and it was damn near impossible. They don’t except a debit card, they no longer take any credit cards except MasterCard and if you do use a MasterCard,  a 5% processing charge will be added to the bill. The payment must be done on-line- there’s not a live person to process payments via the telephone.

I could drive over two hours one way to pay the bill in person with a personal check (they don’t take cash) but there is a window of five days to do it in before incurring a penalty which doesn’t exactly fit into my schedule. This institution prefers to take their payments electronically from  financial institutions as in a Citibank student loan. Well, we did that and now that we’re many of thousands of dollars in debt we’re done with student loans, done, finished, no more.  How badly do they want my money,anyway? Obviously not bad enough to hire someone to process my payment or to inconvenience their schedule just a little.

But wait, I have a beef on a totally different subject as well- here goes…  Just a few hours ago I returned from a trip to Target, which by the way was one of my favorite stores until something happened to the shopping paradise where quality met with moderately low prices on almost everything you could ever need. 

When I entered the store I was greeted by a plethora of dollar store items from no doubt China, then, as I ventured to the women’s department that used to offer halfway cute apparel, I was stopped dead in my tracks by drab colors with no style what-so-ever and what looked to be very low quality. As I manuevered my cart through messy displays and on to the back of the store, I noticed that it was bombarded with  bulk items and off brands. Now I’m all for saving a buck but there’s a time and place for that kind of stock. Target, home of the shabby chic decor is now filled a lot of shabby that’s not so chic.

I do occasionally shop the dollar stores and pay a visit to the Big Lots chain but that doesn’t mean I want this kind of merchandise all the time, everywhere.

I’m willing to pay a little more for the items that call for quality. I want the choice to buy low, medium or high cost goods. I live in Michigan and yes I’ve been hit by the recession but that doesn’t mean I can’t or won’t pay a little more to get something a little nicer or a little more reliable from time to time.  

I’m feeling as though technology just keeps getting more and more expensive but our goods are  getting really cheap and disposable.  While many of our goods are lacking quality, the service industry is in dire need of an overhaul. I think our world is getting a little too big and a lot too impersonal. 

I want conveinence of speed with all the bells and whistles technology allows but why can’t it be delivered in a kinder,  gentler manor with a personal touch. I still need a little quality from time to time in a clean well merchandised store.

Perhaps I’m asking too much and maybe my expectations are a little over the moon but I don’t really think so. Am I the only one who feels lost in a sea of automated machinery and cyber drones? Does anyone else long for a little quality while perusing the isles of their favorite store?

Tell me what you think. Do you feel it… or am I just a little too hypersensitive?

Thanks for listening to my rants. Breathe deep and just chill…..

 I feel better after letting it fly, on-ward and up-ward we go.  Sorry but I warned you 😉

xo-jj

January 11, 2010 - Posted by | confessions, Hello Miss Manners, me, rants | , , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. Breathing may not be enough!!! Try the “hee hoo hee hoo” used during transition in birthing! I was greatly disappointed in Target this Holiday Season. It used to be my happy holiday place to always get me in the mood, but it seems they thought no one was buying ANYTHING this year. Very depressing. Alice and I ran out the door screaming. Walgreens now has a voice system to call in refills, instead using the keypad on the phone. Probably easier for some, perhaps without little dogs that bark at the wind…right in the middle of my refill, the dogs bark and the voice keeps saying to me, “I’m sorry. I didn’t quite get that”. GRRRR.
    hee hoo hee hoo. **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | January 11, 2010

  2. JUNIE! First, I hope you and yours had
    a beautiful Holiday! Next, NO, YOU ARE
    NOT ALONE. I repeat: YOU ARE NOT ALONE!
    Sometimes I think it’s all some conspiracy.
    Honestly though, I miss getting mail in my
    physical mailbox, the one that sits in front
    of my house. Here lately, I have been saying
    “newer isn’t always better.” Things now are
    made with cheap materials and aren’t made to
    last. But that’s the point. It’s cheap enough
    you’ll just go and buy a new one. See? Conspiracy.

    Comment by .kat. | January 12, 2010

  3. Can’t agree with you more. There is a place for low-price, but the niche for quality seems to have vanished. Unfortunately, in the rural area where we live, the junk stores are about all that we see.

    A couple of years ago when I was paying higher ed; they switched to a similar electronic system. It had its share of bumps intially, but worked smoothly my final few semesters. I hope that you experience the same improvement.

    Comment by slamdunk | January 12, 2010

  4. Oh JJ I am so so with you! I have been down this road wih daughter’s college tuition as well as all the ridiculous bill paying services I have, but can’t seem to find a way to remove from my bank account and I DID talk to them live and they still are there. UGH.
    Agreed on Target also. I love my targie but the dollar stuff is pure crap. It used to be cuter stuff:( I could go on but you already have enough material :)The clothes…sheesh!
    Tech:
    While I LOVE the relationships I have through tech/ blogging , I also hate the impersonal side.
    One other thing that makes me sad is that 90% of the invitations my little girls receive these days are evites.
    I love sending invitations and I will not give in to that side of tech…wow that was a lot …sorry!
    Love and peace to you sweet girl.
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | January 12, 2010

  5. Technology . . gadgets they should be there to make things easier not frustrate 🙂 And have to agree, as humans, there are times that we need other human contact. I guess a balance or a choice should be there.

    Let all the frustrations out so it won’t build 🙂 ANd I think this place is a good place to do so. Blogging – a mixture of technology and (somewhat) human contact. You get the response of people who can empathize with you or be supportive – it’s a good thing.

    Hello Junie, it’s been awhile since my last visit (blog vacation 🙂 ) Wishing you a blessed New Year!

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | January 12, 2010


Leave a Reply

