Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

It’s time to refeather the nest

Shhhhh, don’t tell the big guy I’m having a spring fling! Don’t worry it’s not what you think.

A January frost is nipping at my toes which makes me a bit restless and a little, okay a lot, cranky. So I’m indulging myself in a little creative therapy.  I’m creating a few colorful niches, designing some interesting wall art, reorganizing, redecorating, fluffing, refeathering and well you get the picture.  ….and I love it!!!

The big guy is out-of-town and who knows what he’ll think of my creative spurt. It’s a little unusual and a bit on the  girlie side. Mr. Java is little more main stream and a lot more conservative than I. There are times when I wish I were a little more inside the box but no matter how hard I try everything I do comes out a little quirky.

The shadow box in the first pic had a orginal plan of being  filled with a cute little nest of eggs in front of a traditional bird print. But instead I added a Juicy Couture ad from an old vogue magazine and a little sea tree I found on the beach during last years trip to Captiva Island. Then I added three turquoise eggs, which according to Pantone is the color of the season, a few soft feathers and some vintage jewelry pieces. 

 

The fashion picture was created from poster ads for Nordstroms department store and a couple scrapbooking flowers that I layered together and added vintage pearls to. The zen pic was created  for my bathroom to add a feeling of spa luxury. It’s a computer generated print thrown on a canvas with a little paint and homemade flowers.  A crisp white cabinet with glass panels went into the bathroom as well and I added a new throw to my bed.

The shadow box piece is my favorite and I have a yellow Canary just like the one in the print as for the hair- I wish. It’s been fun but now that the big guy is on his way home I’m getting a little nervous about his reaction, like it, love it, hate it, or tolerate it. Do you care to venture a guess at which way it will go?

Have a lovely weekend filled with a lot of inspiration and a little color….

xo-jj

January 15, 2010 - Posted by | lovers, me, photography | , , , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. i think it all looks good

    Comment by kseverny | January 15, 2010

  2. Hi! So lovely! Soo so lovely! I am a funky girl to the core so I love all things outside the box. If Mr Java is anything like Mr HappySimpleLife-he will tolerate and love that you are being creative over buying things for nest:)
    I am so with you on feathering and fluffing- I started painting my furniture yesterday!
    Love to you JJ and Happy weekend!
    xoxo
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | January 15, 2010

  3. Oooooo I LoVe all of them, but especially the first one. Never never never go inside the box!!! I love you just the way you are…especially the quirks! In every couple, one HAS to be the spice…ya, we know who we are. Happy Friday. **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | January 15, 2010

  4. June my favourite is the top one. I love them all, fantastic job.

    xoxoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | January 15, 2010

  5. Your “sea trees” are not trees but the main skeletal structure of the soft coral that is known as fan coral. Really pretty corals and they move just like fans. If you look at my photos of grunts in corals you will see large, swishing fan corals. Also, the photo with the nudibranch is on fan coral. What you are finding are fan corals structures that have drifted to shore. What a lovely way to utilize these gifts from the sea. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | January 15, 2010

  6. Meant to say, I rather like the term “sea trees”. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | January 15, 2010

  7. Very creative. Opposites attract and I am sure he’ll be happy to be home with all the new ideas.

    Comment by slamdunk | January 15, 2010

  8. The pictures and frames you created are so cool. Very inspiring. Have a wonderful weekend, June.

    Comment by Shell | January 16, 2010

  9. i’m envious of your creativity, junie! i can be creative when it comes to writing, but that’s it…oh well…i guess everyone has their thing…but your creativity is so darn beautiful!!

    Comment by libby | January 17, 2010

  10. I’m in awe of your collages. They are just beautiful!

    Comment by Angie Muresan | January 27, 2010


Leave a Reply

