Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Orchid dreams and a girl I once knew

Did I tell you how much I love creamy white flowers- so elegant . It’s orchid time of year again and I can’t get enough of this gorgeous flower. I always look forward to January for this reason. These lovely blooms made the perfect addition to my silver vases from Pottery Barn. They’re so exotic, they inspire dreams of adventurous travel and spawn memories of a girl I once knew.

When I was about five years old I was caught sneaking into the neighbors barn. I went there to look through some old trunks tucked into the loft. I couldn’t control my curiosity. I thirsted for the unknown, for adventure and treasures to behold. I imagined a trunk filled with old hats worn by ladies of importance and fur coats so soft to the touch. There would no doubt be a box of pictures from years ago when times was hard and each face reflected the seriousness that life entailed. The best part would have been a jewelry box filled with sparkling brooches the size of my fist and shiny earrings that dangled just so. 

I’m still that little girl today, but a lot wiser and with a little more self-control. Sometimes I yearn to be the little girl who didn’t care about the dirty dishes, didn’t worry about what might happen tomorrow and never feared the unknown. She lived every day with high hopes and open eyes, she knew that there was something much bigger and better meant for her. This girl didn’t worry about the small stuff and never questioned how she would get to the next destination. She didn’t need much, just the sky, the birds, her dreams, and a backpack. The world was bound to open up, sometime soon and swallow her whole.

Perhaps she had read Alice in Wonderland one too many times or maybe she had a little too much belief in the golden ticket from Charlie and the Chocolate factory. Her expectations were very much like both stories: a fall down the rabbit hole which opened up a new and very strange world full of adventure and unusual happenings but there was always hope, because she was special and held the golden ticket which meant that all her dreams were bound to come true.

Sometimes I struggle to find that little girl who dreamt of beautiful things and never worried, the silly heart who knew so little. I think she’s hiding from a grown-up world but then sometimes when the night sky is full of stars or in the daytime when the sky is just the perfect shade of blue, she’s there, just as free as ever.

I’m not sure what she would say if she could see me now.  Would she believe that her dreams came true? She’s had a good life with many adventures. Besides, I’m not so sure she would have survived a plunge down the rabbit hole or the impact of smashing through the Chocolate factory’s ceiling in a glass elevator. She’s much too fragile for that.

She’s still curious and wonders all the time but it’s okay because there’s still time and many adventures ahead…

xo-jj

January 18, 2010 - Posted by | confessions, me, photography, secrets, Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Yea for displaced adventurers!

    I think I would be there with you as a child looking at those old trunks hidden in a barn.

    Fortunately, I have apprentice adventurers with me now so I can relive some of my old treasure hunting dreams.

    Comment by slamdunk | January 18, 2010

  2. Junie I see that little girl as clear as a bell. As a matter of fact I think she wrote this post.

    You are so beautiful Junie inside and out and I see the love and beauty in you totally.

    The orchids pale in comparison.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | January 19, 2010

  3. She would say that the little girl grew up to be a fabulous woman who still holds her little girls heart dear. As far as Enchanted Revelry’s fabulous give a way… if I can’t win it I hope that you or anyone of those artsy bloggers out there I know do. It is a neat assortment of art supplies that just make my heart go pitter patter. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | January 19, 2010

  4. Awww! Love this Junie and I also wonder where the happy go lucky perrenial optimist me went. I try to be pretty happy and strive to be light but some days it is harder than others. Adult worries squish the little girl. I see you as a girl who loves a lot and lives with a wonder, that alone keeps the girl alive. Happy Tuesday Junie.
    Love
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | January 19, 2010

  5. Yes, Junie, the Little Girl lives! Let her out more to play…that’s what I do at Vanessa’s…play dolls and tea. Funny though, I was a very timid child, and as I have aged, I have grown quite wild! I think I’m living backwards! Oh that explains a LOT. **blows kisses** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | January 19, 2010

  6. HA! Just read your comment about my blue skies!!! Made me giggle out loud. I still remember that post when you accidentally used the self tanning lotion and went to the bank the next morning…see, laughing again about that one. Oh you are a fun girl, Junie June. **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | January 19, 2010

  7. Orchids are interesting and beautiful flowers. SOmetimes, just thinking of growing them makes me intimidated LOL

    To be a child . . . full of curiosity and wonder, living at the moment , and fearless. . . . wouldn’t that be great.You, we may not be the same as the child was but let’s hope we still keep her in our hearts and let her come out every once in a while 🙂

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | January 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

