Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

A little chit chat on a slow Thursday

I’m thinking about making a change with a pallet of  seaside colors. My house is painted in Tuscan hues and it suits me well but lately I’ve contemplated  somthing a little more Zen for my master bedroom and bath, colors that resembles a spa-like atmosphere.  A hint of sand and a whisper of turquoise might do the trick but I don’t want it to stick out like a  chicken with lips. It has to blend with the rest of the house. That might be tricky.

The little vintage chair in the picture above is my inspiration for the room. I found it at a garage sale for 3 bucks. It has been partly stripped which left fabulous layers of ocean blues and sea greens over a base of sandy  brown. The shift in colors are subtle and light and just perfect. I bought it and left it as is. I’ve paired it with a creamy white vanity, accented with a green vase of peacock feathers. I love the look but not so sure I can fit it into my decor on a larger scale, any ideas?

If I were to go on a total splurge I’d buy a new bedroom set in creamy white and paint my walls in the lightest sky blue, new paintings, new duvet cover,etc. $$$  I don’t see that happening any time too soon.

No matter…. it’s the people and pets that make a house a home, right?

On that note I thought I would update you on the beautiful Manx cat I dreamt about before he showed up on my door step and adopted me. Ricky-Bobby has gone from a frequent visitor to a full-time resident. He still spends much of his time in the woods and meadow that surround the house but comes inside to eat and sleep and kill my Canary but that’s a whole other story. I needed a new pet like I needed a new hole in my head but I’m a sucker for a sad face and somebody out there knows it.

The other kitties (only 2 left)  that followed him here are still wild but we spent the time and money to capture and neuter them. Mr. Java has the bite marks to prove it. They peek in the windows and sneak through the doggy door to sleep in the garage when it gets too cold. Remember how Mr. Java had such a fit because I was feeding them? Guess who feeds them now, he caved.

Well, thats all for a slow thursday. Hey Deb guess what? The suns out. Thanks for sending it my way. Now how about those lemons? he hee…

xo-jj

January 21, 2010 - Posted by | me, nasty habits, rants | , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Yes I DID send you the sun!!! Would you also like the moon?? We have RAIN today and no sun has been seen yet. I am going to take some pictures to post to make all my cold weather friends feel better! Ricky-Bobby is beautiful. We have a garage full of strays who just come in to sleep and eat…I think my other cats took out an add on Craig’s List. Enjoy your sunshine…I’m missing mine. **weeps** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | January 21, 2010

  2. What a beautiful post and I love the chair and bedroom. It looks beautiful.

    The cat has the most gorgeous eyes.

    Love Renee xoxo

    Comment by Renee Khan | January 21, 2010

  3. Hi Sweetie Pie- Wow your bedroom style is already faboo. You are wise girl-I am realizing (somewhat sickened) that my bedroom is now over the top . I kind of wish I just did all ivory hues on the furn and added artwork for color-we shall see. I still have to paint my enormous wooden bed. I am going with white on that. I,ll post once it’s all together. Again your style is gorgeous. Bless your kitty saving heart. My beloved Husband who forbid me from getting our current cat has climbed gigantic redwoods several times and a power pole to rescue said kitty. 🙂
    Love to you Junie June.

    Comment by laurel | January 21, 2010

  4. Love the Tuscan colors and these lend themselves very nicely to the beach cottage look you want to add. The quickest way to soften the golden glows is to pain your walls a soft blue tone beige or sand color. This will make everything look spa like and you can still utilize existing furniture. Ricky Bobby is very handsome…I wonder how may Applebee’s he was thrown out of. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | January 21, 2010

  5. Ricky-Bobby is a handsome cat. You could paint one wall of your bedroom in the zen colors you are being drawn to. That would give a new vibe to your room.

    Comment by Shell | January 21, 2010

  6. Hey, if you accept blogger awards, I gave you one (actually two after I combined them) in my post this morning (1/25/10).

    Keep up the good writing.

    Comment by slamdunk | January 25, 2010

  7. Spa-like . . . sand . . . turquoise – – – – I imagine it to be a calming/relaxing room 🙂 Well, if you ever decide, do post some pics 🙂

    I remember a post about those wild cats, hhmmm maybe Ricky-Bobby (How cute is that name) really is warming up to your family. Aawww and who can ever resist when you see one by the door.

    Mizpah,
    Li

    Comment by MyThoughtsMyVoice | January 25, 2010


Leave a Reply

