Javajune's Blog

Someone once said… “Laugh as much as you breathe and love as long as you live.”

Beneath a turquoise spell

A soft white blanket of snow is freshly planted outside and I am sitting snug and warm inside while nursing a cold. I felt the inkling of a sore throat coming on yesterday about mid-way through my twelve-hour shift- yearly inventory. Today will be a good day to catch up on my office work while enjoying a cup of hot and steamy. Homemade chicken soup sounds perfect right now, wish I had a wife or a husband who cooked.

 

For some strange reason I’m on a turquoise binge. I know most people go on food binges, drinking binges and even shopping binges (I’m guilty of the last one) but instead I go on color binges. In the past two weeks I’ve bought two gorgeous lamps in turquoise for my bedroom, a turquoise ring and a turquoise purse. I found this website called everything turquoise and fell in love with this.

Love the turquoise wainscoting and the yummy bedding, actually I’m spellbound by this room, I love everything about it! I can see myself snuggled deep within the covers with a pile of decor magazines along side.  A scented candle is burning the aroma of fresh air and coconuts while my hubby is busy in the kitchen preparing the chicken stock for his homemade soup. A girl can dream, can’t she?

also loved this from the house of turquoise. This room is so beachy and bright, I love the painted stairs decorated with little piles of  beach stones.This color soothes me but at the same time it energizes and refreshes me. It’s strange how something as simple as color can have such a dramatic effect. Perhaps I’m just craving bright blue skies and deep blue oceans instead of white on white with a few blades of brown grass peeking through and pale gray skies overhead. I’m so over winter!

 

 

I keep a little pile of beach stones on my night stand, right next to my turquoise lamp. Well, it’s time for another yummy cup of something toasty, perhaps even chocolately. Mmmm!

Take care…

xo-jj

February 2, 2010 - Posted by | lovers, me, photography | , , , , , ,

12 Comments »

  1. Hi Junie! So funny I was just coming over to visit you when you popped by! Connected! I LOVE turquoise- as you can tell by all the stuff I added to my painted bedroom. I really love that bedroom you featured even more! Just the sort of room I adore and crave. The lamps are dreamy.
    I hope you feel better sweets, and If I lived closer I would bring you some soup. Hugs to you.
    Love
    Laurel

    Comment by laurel | February 2, 2010

  2. There is nothing like the color of turquoise to make the day good. Sweet post. Sea Witch

    Comment by Sea Witch | February 2, 2010

  3. Oh so pretty. Love your photo of the eggs in the cup! So HaPPy!!! Sorry about your cold. I have some chicken chili in the slow cooker just about ready…it will clear your sinuses!! Come now and play. **kisskiss** Deb

    Comment by Deborah | February 2, 2010

  4. Nicely done. Our 3rd grader insisted on having his room a beach theme–a reminder of his favorite summer trip.

    Comment by slamdunk | February 3, 2010

  5. If you love turquoise and design you’ll definitely like this blog and store – <a href="http://stylekeywest.blogspot.com/2010/02/kates-key-west-style-just-add-color.html"<Style Key West. (No financial interest, I just love reading it.)

    Comment by Around the Island | February 3, 2010

  6. Shoot, obviously I screwed up the code somewhere. Here’s a clean version of the link:

    http://stylekeywest.blogspot.com/2010/02/kates-key-west-style-just-add-color.html

    Comment by Around the Island | February 3, 2010

  7. Ah, that turquoise… Lifts my spirits and the corners of my lips. So pretty and refreshing!

    Comment by Angie Muresan | February 4, 2010

  8. If I was feeling a bit under the weather that bed in that turquoise haven would be just the place to make me better. Imagine squidging down in all those cushions, soothed by the calm colours and being fed and watered by someone who loves you… Ahhh!! Bliss!

    Comment by Lisa WrightStuff | February 4, 2010

  9. Have missed you; I haven’t been very good about blogging or visiting my blog friends….so nice to come spend some time here, and I a pretty big fan of turquoise as well—lovely images🙂

    Comment by jana | February 8, 2010

  10. I’m with you on the turquoise wagon..I’m normally a white walls only person but I did paint one room with aqua colored walls~it’s a color that soothing and uplifting.And as someone who grew up on the California coast it remind me of the water near Pt. Lobos or Big Sur on just the right day :)I miss the ocean..

    Comment by Christine | February 10, 2010

  11. Well I can personally tell you that going on a turquoise binge is perfectly safe! (However, it can be expensive if you allow it!) I’M SOOO thrilled that you loved that bedding set. I too fell madly for it when I saw it!

    A million thank-you’s sent your way for all the link-love!🙂

    Comment by Erin | February 10, 2010

  12. The bedroom is gorgeous!
    I really must check out this blog more often.

    Comment by nightman1 | February 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

